Lesson 9: Bookmarking and Tagging

         This weeks lesson was on the topic of bookmarking and tagging. I have a little bit of knowledge of the use of “tags” or assigning subject headings for resources but not a lot of knowledge of tagging online materials or websites. I have experience with using some very brief tags to tag some of my Instagram posts and I am currently working on a project in my work study position at the D.B. Weldon Library at UWO with assigning “tags” to a special collection. With tagging the special collection, this is a very lengthy process as I am having to read a book that is about 150-200 pages long and assign tags that could allow the reader to find a book on that topic online. I can see how this can relate to tagging websites and the like so that web users can find websites or other information on a particular subject. To try and expand my knowledge in this area I signed up for an account on the social tagging website Delicious. I played around with it a bit and tried to see what I could tag and what other users were doing on the site. What I found was that I could easily add a link to the page that I frequently use and assign tags to this link. This is useful because I can go back to my assigned tags and use them to find links that I find are important quickly. What was also useful is that for the links that I tagged, I could see what other users had tagged them as and what their comments were. Furthermore, I could also see what the most popular tags of the day were, what links these tags were being related to, and what stories/links were the most popular. Overall, I find that this site would be useful if I wanted to access my bookmarks/tags from any online connection or even my Smartphone.

        I can see how pages like Delicious and LibraryThing (a webpage to tag books) would be useful in libraries where the user and/or librarian could access their account from anywhere and build up/list their collections. These could also be used for libraries to see what users are viewing as most popular (by tagging their favorite books or most wanted books) and for libraries to use a more flexible form of assigning subjects in a more casual setting. However, the difficulty with assigning tags to books instead of the Library of Congress Subject Headings would be the lack of consistency. Therefore, I would use the tagging method with caution and only use it as a side manner to list a collection or as a form of building a collection based on the users tags. 

Leave a Reply

